Kuopion Kaupunginorkesteri



Thursday 23.11.2023 at 6pm Concert Hall

Facebook Twitter

At 5.30 Atrium

Kuopio Symphony Orchestra
Kolja Blacher, violin and conducting

Max Bruch: Violin Concerto No 1 in G minor Op. 26
Noam Sheriff: “Prayers” for String Orchestra
Robert Schumann: Symphony No 3 in E-flat major Op. 97 “Rhenish”

Lately, ‘play-conduct’ concerts have been at the heart of the German violinist and conductor Kolja Blacher’s activities. Also in Kuopio, he will lead the orchestra while he plays. The music of the Israeli composer Noam Sheriff is an original combination of musical elements from the ancient Mediterranean region and western countries. The concert will begin with his piece Prayers for strings from 1983. Max Bruch’s 1st violin concerto with its sweet melancholic tensions has been dubbed as the world’s most popular violin concerto. Its creation was a tedious process, and according to Bruch, the piece was rewritten at least half a dozen times. Robert Schumann’s 3rd symphony is like a praise to the river Rhine that connects the countries of Europe. It was inspired by the happy and peaceful journey of the composer and his wife Clara along the river Rhine.

Produced by the Kuopio Symphony Orchestra

Liput: 33 € / 27 € senior citizens and groups min. 20 persons / 11 € children under the age of 16 and students
4 € concert day discount ticket for students and young people under the age of 20

The concert is part of the Season Series Ticket.

Prices include the Kuopio Music Centre service fee 2 € / ticket. The service fees vary depending on the place of purchase.



OP Kuopio