Kuopion Kaupunginorkesteri



Thursday 28.09.2023 at 6pm Concert Hall

Facebook Twitter

At 5.30 Atrium

Kuopio Symphony Orchestra
Ruut Kiiski, conductor
Jonathan Roskilly, trombone

Jaakko Kuusisto: Music from the movie Here Beneath the North Star
Dani Howard: Trombone Concerto (2021) – Finnish premiere
Elfrida Andrée: Symphony No 2 in A minor

This too will be an evening full of surprises and firsts! The talended up-and-comer, Ruut Kiiski, makes her Kuopio conducting debut in this starry program. It begins with the third part of our tribute to Jaakko with his Suite from the 2007 film Täällä Pohjantähden alla (Here Beneath the North Star). Ruut insisted on completing the program with the rarity, Elfrida Andrée 2nd Symphony in A-minor.

Our very own Jonathan Roskilly will stun and awe you with the Finnish Premiere of British composer Dani Howard’s Trombone Concerto which has already been called an instant classic of our time. Roskilly, the principal trombonist of the KSO, describes the concerto as gorgeous, dramatic and colourful. In preparing for the performance with his colleagues, he places a big emphasis also on mental preparation. He feels that playing the trombone is the easiest thing in the world – as long as one doesn’t make it more difficult than it needs to be. Besides playing the trombone, Jon has lots of so-called micro-interests; he’s alternately into, for example, mathematics, juggling, coffee, chess and many more. Born in Cheltenham, England, now based in Kuopio with his family, he is also an avid learner of the Finnish language. And what makes his heart sing in life are surprises. Roskilly would have given one of his arms to meet John Cage – one of his personal idols in music and one of the figures in world culture who changed the entire landscape of art. Jon’s own taste in music varies from, for example, contemporary composers such as Louis Andriessen, Gérard Grisey and Steve Reich to folk and folk-fusion; mostly he prefers more reflective music that allows to focus on being in the moment and enjoying the experience.

Produced by the Kuopio Symphony Orchestra

Liput: 33 € / 27 € senior citizens and groups min. 20 persons / 11 € children under the age of 16 and students
4 € concert day discount ticket for students and young people under the age of 20

The concert is part of the Season Series Ticket and the Jaakko Kuusisto Package Ticket.

Prices include the Kuopio Music Centre service fee 2 € / ticket. The service fees vary depending on the place of purchase.



OP Kuopio