Kuopion Kaupunginorkesteri



Thursday 26.10.2023 at 6pm Concert Hall

Facebook Twitter

At 5.30 Atrium

Kuopio Symphony Orchestra
Karen Kamensek, conductor
Raschèr Saxophone Quartet:
Christine Rall, Elliot Riley, Andreas van Zoelen & Iria Garrido Meira

Camille Pepin: Vajrayana (Finnish premiere)
Philip Glass: Concerto for Saxophone Quartet and Orchestra
Robert Schumann: Symphony No 2 in C major Op. 61

The world-renowned Raschèr Saxophone Quartet commissioned a concerto for four saxophones from the American minimalist Philip Glass. The condition was that the piece should be able to be performed both with and without an orchestra. Consequently, Glass composed two different versions of the piece, which were premiered by the Raschèr Quartet in 1995. In Kuopio, we will naturally hear the orchestral version, conducted by Karen Kamensek, who received the Grammy Award for her dazzling interpretations of Glass. The mood will be set by Camille Pepin’s Vajrayana (‘Diamond Path’) that is based on the Buddhist worldview, while after the intermission, we will enjoy guaranteed quality from Schumann, whose second symphony contains references to other diamonds in the history of music, Bach and Beethoven.  

Produced by the Kuopio Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: 33 € / 27 € senior citizens and groups min. 20 persons / 11 € children under the age of 16 and students
4 € concert day discount ticket for students and young people under the age of 20

Customer-owners of the Northern Savo Osuupankki: 28 € / 25 € senior citizens

The concert is part of the Season Series Ticket.

Prices include the Kuopio Music Centre service fee 2 € / ticket. The service fees vary depending on the place of purchase.

Photo credit Felix Broede



OP Kuopio